WCS National Merit Semifinalists Announced

National Merit Semifinalists

From WCS inFocus

Williamson County Schools students have matched the district record of 53 National Merit Semifinalists.

The National Merit Corporation announced the semifinalists for 2020 Wednesday, September 11.

“Being named a National Merit Semifinalist is an accomplishment that not many achieve,” said WCS Superintendent Jason Golden. “This is just another way that the hard work of our students and staff is validated.”

WCS National Merit Semifinalists AnnouncedHigh school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. In February, any Semifinalist who has advanced to become a National Merit Scholarship Finalist will be notified. The Merit Scholarship winners will then be chosen from the Finalists.

“We are elated to hear this news,” said WCS Assistant Superintendent of Secondary Schools Dr. Leigh Webb. “For two consecutive years, we have exceeded 50 National Merit Semifinalists. Our students continue to demonstrate that they are learning and achieving at high levels.”

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and his or her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application in which information is provided about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment and any honors and awards he or she received.

Congratulations to the following National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:

Brentwood High:

  • John Bailey
  • Ginger Buck
  • Michael Dillender
  • Sarah Fisher
  • Avery Fowler
  • Christina Jin
  • Sydney Johns
  • Luke Lattin
  • Sarah Memon
  • Mithul Nallaka
  • Pardhav Polavarapu
  • Molly Robinette
  • Madison Saxton
  • Jeffrey Seiters
  • Thomas Stewart
  • Hannah Uebele

Centennial High

  • Jason Black
  • Neal Ickes
  • Khushi Jani
  • Lexis Khetsavanh

Franklin High

  • Emily Bechtel
  • Evelyn Cook
  • Mingxin Cui
  • Christian Darr
  • Nicholas Grummon
  • Connie Hsu
  • Natasha Messier
  • Owen Myatt
  • Maria Sanchez Boedo
  • William Stockdale
  • David Xu

Independence High

  • Collin Coil
  • Sydney Coil
  • Samantha Dreussi
  • Dylan Fichter
  • Harrison James
  • Rebekah May

Nolensville High

  • Sydney Hummel

Page High

  • Connor Flatt
  • Garrett Hunt
  • Carsten Rovey

Renaissance High

  • Marel Smietana

Ravenwood High

  • Ashwin Balaje
  • Ian Brown
  • Ankush Dhar
  • Spencer Dunn
  • Ian Gatlin
  • Jennifer Hall
  • Mrinmoyee Kalasikam
  • Adam Kreider
  • Kristen Lee
  • Chase Lewis
  • Rithika Tummala