WCS Students’ Awards & Accolades

Students and staff members were in the spotlight at the Williamson County School Board meeting March 23, 2015.

Brentwood High

Brentwood High student Alexander Qin was recognized as the Tennessee Chess Association Scholastic Individual State Champion.  His teacher is Larry Kedigh.

Brentwood High student Sailesh Sitaram placed first in the National German 2 Exam, and Michele Holtkamp placed first in the National German 3 Exam-Heritage Speaker Division.  Their teacher is Emily Dawson.

Centennial High

Ian Seal from Centennial was selected for the US National Senate Youth Program while two Ravenwood students, Alexander Schramkowski and Nick Mucci, were selected for the 14-15 US Senate Page Program.

Ravenwood High

Ravenwood’s Sydni Vaughn was named a National Achievement Scholarship Finalist.

Several students won first place at the Technology Student Association State Competition.  Page High students Michael Bianchi and Riley Cochrane won for Computer Aided Drawing in Structural Design and Engineering; Daniel Sokol won for Computer Aided Drawing in Dragster Design; Ben Weaver won for Computer Aided Drawing in Transportation Modeling; and Michael Bianchi, Riley Cochrane, Rian Gober, Camron Midgette and Jarod Teague won for Computer Aided Drawing in Manufacturing Prototype. Their teachers are Beth Foreman and Jimmy Baker. Summit student Allison Baldwin won for Computer Aided Drawing in 2D, and Camden McNeely won for Computer Aided Drawing in 3D.  Their teachers are Kris Schneider and Ben White.

TN High School Press Association Honors

Several students earned first place honors at the Tennessee High School Press Association competition.   Brentwood High’s Samantha Rich won Best Illustration / Art.  Her teacher is Jan Little. Centennial’s Andrew Knight won Best Digital Art/ Graphic Design.  His teacher is Dawn Marek. In the media production category, Brentwood High students Shayna Funderburk won for Best Commercial; Dakota Payne, Ben Sherrill, Caleb Howard and Jake Fisher won for Best Music Video; Noah Osuna, Dakota Payne, Caroline Steele, Hamza Khalid, Ben Sherrill, Jack Burke, Julianne Martin, Katie Hart, Sam Dillard, Andrew Fischer, Caleb Howard, Jack Brimm, Jake Fisher, Morgan Yoder, Jared Smith, Caleb Howard, Stephanie Steele, Kelsey Brannon, Morgan Yoder, Rosie Gunger, Callie Lancaster, Mary Margaret Davis and Rachel Ault won for Best Live Sports.  Their teacher is Ronnie Adcock.

At Franklin High the media production classes won the Best Overall TV Station; Michael Castellon, Christian Whittemore and Jakob Serban won for Best Sports Show; Michael Castellon won for Best Short Feature Story; Michael Castellon, Andrew Kochamba, Anna Glenn Grove, Christian Whittemore, McKenna Martin, Joe Brown, Conner Adams, Tyler Parrish, Laine Gates, Gwen Statz, Hope Dyra and Topher Brown won for Best Newscast.  Their teacher is Keri Thompson. Independence High’s Parker Morley won Best Videographer; Anthony Bogdan and Noah Santana won Best PSA; and Ian Huber and Parker Morley won Best Video/Documentary.  Their teacher is Matt Balzer.

brentwood high forensics teamNational Forensic League TN State Competition

Williamson County students had an excellent showing at the National Forensic League Tennessee State Competition. Brentwood High students Sarath Pavuluri and Rebekah Ninan won first place in Public Forum Debate, and Ninan was awarded the District Student of the Year. The Brentwood High debate team won the Debate Sweepstakes Award.  Their teacher is Harriet Medlin. Ravenwood High’s Andy Gordon won first place in Humorous Interpretation, and the team won the Tournament Sweepstakes Award.  Their teacher is Brian Kaufman.

Music Honors

In the arts, The Franklin Winds was honored for its performance at the Music for All National Chamber Music Festival. Members include Maddox Myers, Maegan Vincent, Madelyn Vincent, Christine Barham, Mia Uni, Claire Terrel, Chase Lantz, Emily Sanders, Kat Olson, Sam Stone, Chandler Wilder, Meredith Aydelott, Mikayla Ray and Audrey Binnicker. The director is David Aydelott.

Also from Franklin, Michael Hall, Ryan Fisher, Mikaela Ray and Audrey Binnicker were honored for becoming members of the Music for All Honor Band of America. Their director is David Aydelott. Other members of the Music for All Honor Band include Page High’s Rebecca Singletary, director Matt Emerson, and Ravenwood students Dustin Lin and Taylor Winkler, director Mark Kinzer.