school header

See this week’s highlights from Williamson County Schools:

Dr. Looney Named Superintendent of the Year

dr looney superintendent of the year

Dr. Mike Looney recieved the Superintendent of the Year Award from the Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents on Sunday night.

Be Nice Community Summit

Be Nice Summit

WCS partnered with Franklin Special School District and S.T.A.R.S (Students Taking a Right Stand) in celebration of Be Nice month with a community summit Tuesday night at St. Phillip Catholic Church. It was a full house as the parents, educators, and students gathered to learn how to spot and stop bullying in Williamson County.

Sunset Elementary School

Sunset Elementary

Sunset Elementary celebrated 10 years with an evening of food, fun, and fellowship Friday night.

Centennial High School

WCS CHS Football Coach
CHS Head Football Coach Brian Rector

Head Football Coach Brian Rector was named the Tennessee Titans Coach of the Week after CHS’ 30-13 victory over Ravenwood on Friday Sept 11. Along with the recognition, the Titans will be making a $1,000 donation to the Centennial Cougars to use at Coach Rector’s discretion.

Franklin High School

WCS JROTC national honor

JROTC Battalion Commander Lauren Hall became one of 60 JROTC students nationwide to receive the Legion of Valor Bronze Cross. A ceremony was held in her honor on Friday Sept 11. This award is the highest national award that can be given to a high school JROTC cadet who has shown consistent leadership qualities, community service, dedication to their high school and has exceeded normal expectations of a high school student.

Brentwood High School

Several members of the Brentwood HS Speech and Debate Team traveled to Wake Forest University in North Carolina last weekend for the National Early Bird Forensics Tournament.  BHS students who teamed up in Public Forum Debate included Shreyas Kumar and Harry Westbrook; James Dai and Brandon Huynh; Aditya Pillaiand Deepak Sundaramoorthy; John Kang and Adam Pechianu.

WCS BHS Debate Team 2015
Harry Westbrook, Shreyas Kumar, Deepak Sundaramoorthy, Andrew Dai, Aditya Pillai, John Kang, Adam Pechianu, Brandon Huynh

Students in the Individual Events included Andrew Brown, Sean Forbes, Craig Martin, and Roger Yuan in Extemporaneous Speaking; Sam Dowd and Margaret Overton in Congressional Debate.

WCS BHS Debate Team 2015
Margaret Overton, Roger Yuan, Andrew Brown, Sean Forbes, Craig Martin, Sam Dowd

College Fair

The WCS College Fair is next week. Read up on the details here.

More School News