WCS National Merit Semifinalists Break Record

wcs national merit

From WCS inFocus

Williamson County Schools has set a new district record for the number of National Merit Semifinalists.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced September 12 that 53 WCS students were named National Merit Semifinalists.

“This is another example of the relentless determination of our students, parents and teachers,” said Superintendent Dr. Mike Looney. “Our students continue to rise to the challenge, and I could not be more proud.”

Nationally, approximately 16,000 students across the nation receive this honor. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

“We are ecstatic about this recent achievement,” said WCS Assistant Superintendent of Secondary Schools Dr. Leigh Webb. “The milestone of exceeding 50 National Merit Semifinalists in one year is further evidence that our students are learning and achieving at very high levels. We are proud of their accomplishments and the work of their teachers.”

In February, any Semifinalist who has advanced to become a National Merit Scholarship Finalist will be notified of the designation. The Merit Scholarship winners will then be chosen from the Finalists.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and his or her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which information is provided about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment and any honors and awards he or she received.

Congratulations to the following National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:

Brentwood High

  • Namrah Ajmal
  • Dawson Ballard
  • Cecilia Brazil
  • Derrick Chen
  • Jessica Cortez
  • Quinn Cunneely
  • Jeffrey Fowler
  • Eliana Hensley
  • Jack Holcombe
  • Patrick Holcombe
  • Suraj Keerthi
  • Aspen Martin
  • Caroline Overton
  • Elizabeth Qiao
  • Yi Qu
  • Paige Russell
  • Emma Rutherford
  • Hutson Staggs
  • Davis Westbrook
  • Georgia Winker

Centennial High

  • Meleah Orr
  • William Ward
  • Rhe Zaverchand

Franklin High

  • Olivia Bruno
  • Megan Carneal
  • Joshua Garretson
  • Sina Ghandi
  • Paige Hurley
  • June Kolentus
  • Evelyn Lanai
  • Sarah Li
  • Madeline McGaha
  • David Ong
  • Madeline Repath
  • Kate Sanborn
  • Sally Shadrach
  • Grace Simpson

Independence High

  • William Henke
  • Brent Lane
  • Sean Spoletini

Page High

  • Megan Juba
  • Jacob Robbins

Ravenwood High

  • Jordan Albrecht
  • Kevin Frost
  • Matthew Goodbred
  • Andrea Huang
  • Gabrielle Liu
  • Daniel Pert
  • Lauren Shepard
  • Grace Sullivan
  • Maya Thieme
  • Sean Whelan
  • Isabel Wilson