TMA’s Diane Thorne Named to Association of Commuter Transportation Board of Directors

The TMA Group (Transportation Management Association) is pleased to announce that Diane Thorne, TMA Regional Transportation Director, has been named to the Association of Commuter Transportation (ACT) Board of Directors effective January 1, 2015.

ACT is the international trade association and leading advocate for commuter transportation and transportation demand management, headquartered in Alexandria, Virginia. ACT works with the US Department of Transportation concerning transportation funding, public policy, and advocacy programs on behalf of its members. ACT is committed to the mission that: commuting by bus, train, rideshare, bike, walking, or telework improves our world by contributing to energy independence, better air quality, sustainability, urban mobility, and reduced congestion.

Patrick G. Emery, TMA Chairman, said: “TMA is so honored to have Diane named to the ACT Board of Directors. She will be such a tremendous asset to this international organization. Diane’s experience, leadership and knowledge will prove a great advantage to the governing body of ACT.

“I am privileged for this opportunity to serve on the ACT Board of Directors, representing TMA and the Southeast region. I look forward to sharing my experiences and knowledge of sustainable transportation solutions to support the important work of the ACT organization,” stated Diane Thorne.

Thorne leads The TMA Group’s efforts in coordinating transportation solutions with local, regional and national partners. She is responsible for researching, assessing industry trends relative to TMA’s integrated programs and solutions, identifying and implementing new and enhancing existing programs: VanStar regional vanpool commuter program, Franklin Transit Authority’s local urban transit system, and grants and funding division for growth programs.