Spotlight Shines on WCS Theater Students


High school theater students around the district hit their marks at the annual Spotlight Awards May 11 and brought home top honors.

Each year, students from East and Middle Tennessee are invited to enter their work into a variety of categories including vocals, direction, design and more. The nominated casts and crews gather in the Andrew Jackson Hall of the Tennessee Performing Arts Center for a night full of entertainment as the nominees for Outstanding Musical perform onstage.

In addition to the awards ceremony, students may also participate in a day of workshops taught by industry professionals.

Congratulations to the following students and productions:

Franklin High

  • Kaitlyn Sumner – Outstanding Supporting Actress
  • Bring It On: The Musical – Outstanding Direction

Independence High

  • Georgia Leming – Outstanding Comedic Actress
  • Outstanding Ensemble

Page High

  • Michael Dinkins – Outstanding Supporting Actor
  • Kendra Satterwhite and Lauren Howell – All-Star Cast

Ravenwood High

  • Sam Anctil – Outstanding Comedic Actor
  • Sam Anctil and Kelly Whitlow – All-Star Cast
  • Noa Villalobos and Ansley Rosen – All-Star Crew

From WCS inFocus