Scene Around Town: 32nd Annual Governor’s Stewardship Awards

Hytch - Governor Award

On Monday, July 9, the Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation held its annual Stewardship Awards at the Cool Springs Marriott in Franklin.

Each year, the Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards recognizes the many voluntary efforts of individuals, organizations, local governments, and companies that enhance the environment and natural resources. The award winners represent some of the very best achievements in Tennessee.

Dr. Larry W. Moore, of the University of Memphis, and Mary Priestley, a volunteer at South Cumberland State Park, were both presented with the Robert Sparks Walker Lifetime Achievement Award. Four organizations received the Pursuit of Excellence Award: Bridgestone Americas Tire Operations, LLC, Warren Plant; the Electric Power Board of Chattanooga; Memphis Light, Gas and Water; and Sevier Solid Waste, Inc. The Pursuit of Excellence category is reserved for past award winners who have continued to take exemplary environmental actions.

Locally, Hytch received an award for Excellence in Clean Air along with General Motors of Spring Hill for Excellence in Sustainable Performance and the Country Music Hall of Fame for Excellence in Materials Management. A panel of 18 professionals representing agricultural, conservation, forestry, environmental and academic professionals judged more than 75 nominations and selected this year’s award recipients based on criteria including on-the-ground achievement, innovation, and public education.

Watch the video below where Hytch received their award.