Scene Around Town: 2017 WILLCO Awards


The last day of school for Williamson County students was Tuesday, May 23, but for some students, there was one more school activity that evening in Franklin.

Now in its third year, the WILLCO Awards moved this year from the Franklin Theatre to The Factory in Franklin due to the popularity of the event. Students walked the red carpet, Vince Neil from Motley Crew was a special guest and the night ended with a notable address by former University of Tennessee football coach, Phil Fulmer.


See the complete list of winners below.

Girls Cross-Country
Annika Sleenhof – Ravenwood High

Boys Cross-Country
Brody Hasty – Brentwood High

Girls Golf
Annie Paris – Brentwood High

Boys Golf
Trenton Johnson – Brentwood High

Logan Eggleston – Brentwood High

Football Defense
David Demke – Independence High

Football Offense
Brandon Hines – Independence High

Football Player of the Year
Landon Guidry – Independence High

Girls Soccer
Peyton DePriest – Franklin High

Girls Basketball
Kiera Downey – Ravenwood High

Boys Basketball
Grayson Murphy – Independence High

Girls Wrestling
Zanaya Stropshire – Independence High

Boys Wrestling
Jack Schrader – Franklin High

Girls Bowling
Camy Barber – Brentwood High

Boys Bowling
Michael Krewson – Summit High

Erin Gardner – Franklin High

Haley Diggs – Ravenwood High

Girls Tennis
Somerset Henry – Brentwood High

Boys Tennis
Sam Fisher – Brentwood High

Girls Track
Riley White – Ravenwood High

Boys Track
TJ Sheffield – Independence High

Boys Soccer
Joseph Malloy – Franklin High

Hannah Koenig – Brentwood High

Robert Hossell – Independence High

Female Athlete of the Year
Logan Eggleston – Brentwood High

Male Athlete of the Year
Grayson Murphy – Independence High

Female Coach of the Year
Barbara Campbell – Brentwood High Volleyball

Female Team of the Year
Brentwood High Volleyball

Male Team of the Year
Independence Basketball

Student-Athlete of the Year
Emma Sanders – Page High

Athletic Trainer of the Year
Meg Stockham – Summit High

Courage Award
Hunter Garstin – Independence High

Media Student of the Year
Cam Wilson – Ravenwood High

Male Sport Coach of the Year
Greg Glass – Independence High

Hunter Dupree – Independence High

DII Directors Cup
Page High

DI Directors Cup
Brentwood High