Nine Belmont Art Students Recognized Nationally for Their Work


Nine Belmont students were recently recognized with a Student ADDY Award through one of the top local competitions for student advertising design in the nation. The awards are hosted by the American Advertising Federation Nashville (AAFN) and the Nashville Student Advertising Awards.

The students who took home five gold and nine silver awards include Sebastian Lara, Mackenzie Smith, Caitlin Cooney, Margaret Owens, Carrie Neville, Abraham Mast, Kayla Monis, Caitlyn Swartwood and Ambrose Vargason.

“ADDY awards are nationally recognized in the design industry, and it is an extremely competitive competition. Winning one lets future employers know you have exceptional talent,” said Art Professor Doug Regen. “I could not be more proud of the talented hard working students that were recognized this year.”

The award categories and their winners are as follows:


  • Paper Boy/Magazine Design- Sebastian Lara
  • Beth’s Alterations/Logo Design – Mackenzie Smith
  • Adoption/Integrated Marketing Campaign – Caitlin Cooney
  • Birds/Magazine Design – Margaret Owens
  • Paper Boy/Illustration Series – Sebastian Lara


  • Frist Gala/Special Events Design – Mackenzie Smith
  • Frist Gala/Special Events Design – Carrie Neville
  • Bill Hobbs Magazine Layout – Caitlin Cooney
  • Rare Birds/Brand Logo Design – Abraham Mast
  • Blast/Brand Logo Design – Kayla Monis
  • The Swarm/Brand Logo Design – Caitlyn Swartwood
  • Convoy – Abraham Mast
  • Nairobi Olympics/Event Logo Design – Kayla Monis
  • Marina Park/Site Signage Design – Ambrose Vargason