Franklin Resident Named Conservationist of the Year by Tennessee Wildlife Federation

Dr. Shari Meghreblian
Dr. Shari Meghreblian

On Friday, May 10, Tennessee Wildlife Federation hosted its 54th Annual Conservation Achievement Awards at Loveless Cafe Barn, in Nashville.

“The diverse group of award winners today serves as a reminder that successful conservation will always depend on a diverse and collaborative effort,” said Michael Butler, CEO of the Federation. “Our honorees have conducted important field work, secured crucial support, educated the next generation, and so much more.”

The event was sponsored by Bridgestone, BDY Natural Sciences Consultants, and the National Wildlife Federation.

“The Federation was founded by people with varying interests, backgrounds, and viewpoints. In much the same way, we bring together and celebrate each year a mix of people, organizations, and disciplines. Their complementary talents and expertise serve key roles in sustaining Tennessee,” said Kendall McCarter, CDO of the Federation.

Individuals and organizations from all corners of the state were recognized.

Conservationist of the Year

Dr. Shari Meghreblian of Franklin, Tenn. with work spanning the state
In her role as Deputy Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation, Dr. Meghreblian proposed the development of the first comprehensive and statewide water plan to safeguard the future of our water resources. The concept of TN H2O became a central part of Gov. Haslam’s administration and, ultimately, reflects the views and needs of Tennessee’s diverse regions and industries. Today, Dr. Meghreblian owns Triple Edge Strategies, a consulting firm that advises public and private sector leaders about navigating the crossroads of energy, environment, and the economy.

  • Conservationist of the Year — Dr. Shari Meghreblian
  • Dr. John. O. “Jack” Gayden Leadership Award — Monty Halcomb
  • J. Clark Akers, III Champion of Conservation Award — Jim and Jean Maddox
  • Chairman’s Award — Sam Mars, III
  • Conservation Legislator of the Year — Congressman David Kustoff
  • Wildlife Conservationist of the Year — Mary Jennings
  • Land Conservationist of the Year — Ralph Knoll, The Conservation Fund
  • Water Conservationists of the Year — Elaine Boyd
  • Forest Conservationist of the Year — Austin Bibb
  • Conservation Organization of the Year — Tennessee B.A.S.S. Nation High School
  • Conservation by Business — Genera Energy
  • Conservation Educator of the Year — Dr. Jonathan Evans
  • Conservation Communicator of the Year — Dr. David Sloas
  • Youth Conservationist of the Year — Cash Daniels
  • On Target Award — Lance Rider
  • Dan & Cherie Hammond Sharing the Harvest Award — Larry Ross
  • Hunter Education Instructor of the Year — Gene Smith