Columbia State and WCS Sign AiiT Agreement for Fairview High

columbia state logo


Columbia State Community College recently signed a program agreement with Williamson County Schools and Fairview High School at the Spring Hill-based Northfield Workforce Development & Conference Center, where Columbia State holds its Advanced Integrated Industrial Technology program. The partnership will provide mechatronics-based dual-credit courses for Fairview students beginning fall 2016.

“We could not be more excited to have our students embark on this journey with our partnership,” said Dr. Juli Oyer, Fairview principal. “We believe we are making huge trajectory changing opportunities for our students.”

[images_grid auto_slide=”no” auto_duration=”1″ cols=”two” lightbox=”no” source=”media: 113467,113468,113469,113470″][/images_grid]

The agreement, signed by Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president, and Oyer, kicks off the beginning of a three-phase implementation that will ultimately allow students to earn their high school diploma, a technical certificate and an Associate of Applied Science degree in AiiT simultaneously.

“It’s about students and providing opportunities,” Smith said. “This is the beginning of many good things to come, and we are very proud to be a part of it. It’s a good day for Columbia State, a good day for Williamson County schools, but most importantly, a good day for future students.

To implement the AiiT program at Fairview, the school will be converting some of their existing lab space to hold the necessary equipment. Fairview has selected engineering technology teacher, Kevin Sizemore, to serve as instructor for the program.

“Our students are very interested in robotics,” Sizemore said. “We have a middle school technology program that is very popular and have always thought that our students would enjoy pursuing that further, but some of our students cannot make the drive to Columbia State’s Spring Hill location or have jobs after school that have kept that from happening. Instituting this program is a way of eliminating the barriers between these students and their interests.”

The interest for the program is already high, as the first-year Mechatronics 1 course scheduled for fall is nearly full.

About Columbia State

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee’s first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit

[scroller style=”sc1″ title=”Columbia State News” display=”cats” cats=”267″ number_of_posts=”10″ auto_play=”5000″ speed=”300″]