Franklin High School is racking up the accolades. Read about some recent awards received by their students.

Broadcasting Awards
Franklin High School Broadcasting students have a lot to be proud of.  They won multiple awards at the Tennessee high School Press Association Awards:

Mark Madison, Best Overall TV Station

Michael Castellon, Christian Whittemore & Jakob Serban, 1st place in Best Sports Show category for “GameDay”

Michael Castellon, 1st place in Best Short Feature Story category for “Tips for Freshman”

Michael Castellon, Andrew Kochamba, Anna Glenn Grove, Christian Whittemore, McKenna Martin, Joe Brown, Conner Adams, Tyler Parrish, Laine Gates, Gwen Statz, Hope Dyra & Topher Brown, 1st place in Best Newscast category for Franklin in 5–Oct 8, 2014 episode
(team pictured above)

Peter Newsom, 2nd place in Best News/Sports Package category for FHS vs. BHS football game

Peter Newsom & Megan Pogue, 3rd place in Best Documentary category for “Behind the scenes of GameDay”

Science Olympian Team
The Team competed at the Regional Competition at Volunteer State Community College. They competed in 23 different events against 11 other high schools from the state of Tennessee and placed 4th overall in the competition.Each event awarded medals for the top 3 team scores. The medal recipients were:

Astronomy 2nd Place- Beverly Paz,

Scrambler 3rd Place- Anna Solsvig, Mia Unni

Bridge Building 2nd Place- Deepak Subramanian, Justin Ma

It’s About Time 1st Place- Kat Olson, Kevin Kleiner

Entomology 3rd Place- Anna Solsvig, Emily Charles

Bungee Drop 2nd Place- Jeremiah Wooten, Kevin Kleiner

Mission Possible 3rd Place- Abdul Aleryani, Justin Ma

Chemistry Lab 1st Place- Jeremiah Wooten, Joey Biagini

Technical Problem Solving 1st Place- Jeremiah Wooten, Mia Unni

Air Trajectory 3rd Place- Deepak Subramanian, Justin Ma

Forensics Team
Four members of the Forensics (Speech, Debate, and Interp) team travelled to Gatlinburg for the Carson-Newman Invitational. All total, they competed in a combined 14 events, for an astounding 31 rounds of competition.  Senior Nina Donovan brought home two SemiFinal medals, and Sophomore Musa Subramaniam garnered one SemiFinal medal.  Next up:  The NSDA National Qualifying Tourney this weekend.

Mock Trial Tournament
Students from Franklin High School competed in the annual District 4 Mock Trial tournament composed of the public and private schools from Cannon, Hickman, Lewis, Marshall, Perry, Rutherford and Williamson counties.  This year we entered two teams for the competition. The FHS teams did a fantastic job and came in 2nd and 3rd place in the overall rankings.  The following students participated in the mock trial tournment.

LoganSmitherman                         Olivia Johnson                     Kate Jackson

Lily Walter                                        Fiona Cauley                        Abby Smallwood

Justin Wood                                     Maddie Wester                   Julia Fabricio

Elisa Aguerrevere                           Lillian Moore                       Claire Andrews

Maria Chavez                                  Kate Carty                            Taylor Lanier

Mary Hastings                                 Katie Bullard