Father Ryan High School National Merit Semi-Finalists

Father Ryan High School in Nashville announced that eight Seniors have been named National Merit Semi-Finalists, and four of those students hail from Williamson County.

Ryan Conger, Emma Dooling, Quentin Rummo, and Ryan Kelley, all residents of Williamson County, were among the eight honorees. They were joined by their classmates Kade Foster, Caroline Kreh, Rachel Phan, and Michael Valencia, in addition to school President Jim McIntyre and Principal Paul Davis, in a ceremony announcing the national distinction yesterday.

Conger, Dooling, and Kelley are all parishioners and alumni of St. Matthew Catholic School and Church in Franklin, while Rummo is an alumnus of Grassland Middle School in Franklin and a parishioner of St. Philip.

Having eight students be recognized for this distinguished honor puts Father Ryan in a class of their own; no Catholic school in Tennessee matched this number, and this is the second year in a row that Father Ryan boasts the most National Merit Semi-Finalists of any Catholic school in Tennessee.

The eight semi-finalists, who hail from both Davidson and Williamson Counties, are:

Ryan Conger, an alumnus and parishioner of St. Matthew
Emma Dooling, an alumna and parishioner of St. Matthew
Kade Foster, an alumnus and parishioner of St. Henry
Ryan Kelley, an alumnus and parishioner of St. Matthew
Caroline Kreh, an alumna and parishioner of Holy Rosary
Rachel Phan, an alumna and parishioner of Christ the King
Quentin Rummo, an alumnus of Grassland Middle and parishioner of St. Philip
Michael Valencia, an alumnus of St. Edward and a parishioner of Our Lady of Guadalupe
“We’re so proud of these eight students. They represent Father Ryan’s commitment to academic excellence, and their work ethic, both in and out of the classroom, is unmatched,” said McIntyre.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. National Merit Scholarship winners of 2018 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July.